Westlands awards scholarships to twenty local high school students

Westlands Water District recently announced the recipients of its 2024 Westlands Scholarship. The annual program recognizes and rewards exceptional graduating seniors from westside high schools. This year, the District will award $1,000 to twenty individuals based on a combination of academic achievements, leadership, contributions to the local community, and future career goals.

“Westlands is honored to support the educational journey of some of our region’s outstanding youth for the 18th year,” said Allison Febbo, General Manager, Westlands Water District. “Recognizing that education can be expensive, we hope to help reduce barriers for students in our communities to pursue college and career paths so that they can achieve their dreams. These talented students are the ones who will define the future of the Central Valley.”

The District congratulates the following 20 recipients of the 2024 Westlands Scholarship:

Moises Solorio, Future Ag. Business Leader
Avenal High School – California State University, Fresno

Angelina Lee, Future Nurse
Coalinga High School – California State University, Fresno

Susana Licea, Future Registered Nurse
Coalinga High School – West Hills College

Nolan Herrin, Future Business Leader
Coalinga High School – California State University, Fresno

Angela Rosa, Future Biologist
Firebaugh High School – California State University, Fresno

Isabella Silva, Future Nurse
Sierra Pacific High School – California State University, Fresno

Brayson Gillio, Future Ag. Business Leader
Sierra Pacific High School – California State University, Fresno

Sofia Godinho, Future Speech Pathologist
Sierra Pacific High School – San Diego State

Jason McDonald, Future Education Leader
Lemoore High School – Minot State University

Daisy Albarran, Future Administration of Justice Leader
Lemoore High School – West Hills College Lemoore

Paige Orton, Future Teacher
Lemoore Middle College High School – Brigham Young University Idaho

Arley Melendez, Future Political Science Leader
Mendota High School – UC Berkeley

Aylany Macias, Future Medicine/Public Health Official
Mendota High School – UC San Diego

Cherrilyn Segovia Ruiz, Future Pediatrician
Mendota High School – UCLA

Maria Mendoza, Future Public Health Official
Mendota High School – Cal Poly

Leonel Solorio, Future Biologist
Riverdale High School – California State University Monterey Bay

Angela Vazquez Solorio, Future Mathematician
Riverdale High School – Lemoore College

Jimena Arias Estrada, Future Business Administrator
Riverdale High School – CSU Sacramento

Denise Torres, Future Psychologist
Tranquility High School – CSU San Francisco

Oscar Duran Vega, Future Food Scientist
Tranquility High School – California State University, Fresno

Check Also

Technical Review Panel Begins Work on Cadiz Water Project

Agreement paves way for water delivery through Cadiz pipeline

Cadiz, Inc. has signed an agreement with Santa Margarita Water District (SMWD) to deliver water …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *